Chinese / English
Home >> Great Minds China Forum >>  1st Great Minds China Forum >>  The Difficulties, Challenges and Opportunities of Contemporary EconomicsThe Difficulties, Challenges and Opportunities of Contemporary Economics
Shi Zhengfu:Changing Reality and Theoretical Innovation



Shi Zhengfu is the director of Center for New Political Economy of Fudan University. He is the author of several publications, including Structure and Management of Modern Enterprise, Socialist Macroeconomic Analysis (co-author), and a dozen of papers. The following is the transcript of Professor Shi Zhengfu’s speech.

 

Theories take reality as the study object. An unchanged theory will never match with the changing reality. Major theoretical reforms certainly follow major reality reforms. Generally, economics theories today is about economics of industrial capitalism, which features a study object of the real economy. The biggest change in the past three decades is that industrial capitalism is turning into global financial capitalism. The reason I use the term “capitalism” instead of “market economy” is that the former is commonly adopted in English. There are three major reality reforms last month that economists do not attach importance to; therefore, I think it will result in failures of seven to eight main existing economic theories.

 

The first reality reform is that currency is no longer currency. Although we still say that traditional currency possesses intrinsic value and it is a special commodity, currency is a piece of paper today. The U.S. dollar is no longer associated with gold, but it is true that this piece of paper has been universal for decades.

 

The circulation of paper money is determined by the political decision-making of a country. Issuance of U.S. paper currency leads to a result that the total amount of paper currency is far beyond the amount required by traditional production and operation of GDB. It brings about the second phenomenon that I call “the internalization of the financial industry”. In the past, the financial industry is an intermediary industry of service institutes that connecting depositors and investors. Now, it is known that the major part of the financial system is no longer intermediary services; instead, it is a self-service, self-circulated distribution system creating profits and loss in transactions with financial derivatives. So the second financial industry is “self-circulated finance” which ranks higher and has larger scale compared with the intermediary finance. Before the 2007 subprime mortgage crisis, the transaction amount of financial derivatives registered 600 trillion U.S. dollars, which declined to 30 trillion U.S. dollars after outbreak of the crisis. 600 trillion U.S. dollars was several times more than the global GDP, but the amount shrunk to 30 trillion U.S. dollars in a short period, so we can understand that the financial industry is no longer the same industry it used to be. The fundamental contribution to the large-scale financial industry today is the development of financial derivatives, and the financial derivative is to convert most major production factors to financial investment goods. Although it can be dated back to 19th century, the financial derivative only achieved the large-scale development in the past three to four decades. From petroleum to cotton and to corns, soybeans and metal, exchanges convert a wide range of production factors to investment goods.

 

I talk about this because of the greatest difference between investment goods and general goods. General goods are for personal use. We can buy less when they are expensive and more when they are cheap. But investment goods are different. We may buy more when it is expensive because we expect the price will continue to increase. There are investment goods experiencing long-time price rise, because higher prices lead to more demands, which drive prices continue to go upward. It is called positive feedback, which is the opposite of the negative feedback required by the general economy.

 

It brings about a big problem: production factors in the market and other financial derivatives form new prices in the financial market, which challenges the first economic theory, general equilibrium theory. The pricing of assets in the modern financial market is no longer consistent with the equilibrium pricing, and there is phenomenon of going with the tide in bulk investments, which is a premise in behavioral finance. Investors even large investors appear, and new profit-making approaches are created. It is known that the root cause of the success of Adam Smith’s “invisible hand” is what he emphasized: all for one and one for all. That is I provide supply to the society. The current financial asset pricing should be called as “constructing the price”. It is reasonably constructed by spontaneous interaction of the national policy, the mainstream capital market and the market. The process can be illustrated with a model.

 

The second theory is marketing theory. Whether the general goods market of a liberal economy is effective and whether it has international competitiveness is determined by the fundamental factor market. It means whether a strong factor supply environment of a country can take shape in the fundamental factor market with investment behaviors. The factor supply environment is formed by the interaction among the national capital and spontaneous market forces. It can explain the 500-year western development and the tragedy of the developing countries.

 

The third theoretical impact is on monetary theory. The quantity of money needs to be expanded. Originally, MA equals PQ. The price in the quantity of money is the price of logistics and services rather than that of financial goods. Now the price of assets needs to be added, which means material price and asset price constitute the new price index. Inflation in macroeconomics usually refers to the material price. Secondly, in addition to the real economy, a large part of money demand flows into the virtual economy. Thus, the measurement of the amount of money and the concept of appropriate amount of money are all changed.

 

The fourth is that the transmission mechanism of monetary policy begins to fail. We’ve mentioned money, interest and investment. Now, the relation between money and interests is not always effective. Money doesn’t always influence interests, and interests don’t always determine investments. I find it is the liability of monetary market instead of the interest investment that influences the economic growth. The economic growth mainly relates to whether liabilities are on the productive capital or the virtual economy.

 

The last is the central bank. The theory and the nature of the central bank are different. It is believed that fiscal monetary policy supports the economic growth. The central bank has become a purchaser of micro assets and engaged in market transactions directly. Purchasing “toxic assets” is the most obvious behavior, as well as purchasing shares of large companies. There is more (due to limited time, I only mention it). In conclusion, new economic doctrines generate ongoing intrinsic reform requirements. It is critical that economists can face the reality and conduct independent research based on major reality problems. We hope academic progress in economics can be achieved by combining the research with practices in China.

 

(Organized based on the record)

 



◆please indicate the source if authorized: National Economics Foundation

◆photo:National Economics Foundation

中文 / English
史正富:现实变革与理论创新

 

QQ截图20170616104320.png

 

(史正富,现任复旦大学新政治经济学研究中心主任。1980年起开始发表著述,著有《现代企业的结构与管理》、《社会主义宏观经济分析》(与人合作)等著作和数十篇论文。史正富教授认为,新的经济学说导致我们经济学理论正在发生内在的变革要求,关键看经济学家是不是能够面对现实,抓现实的重大问题展开自己的独立研究。以下为史正富教授的演讲实录:)


理论是以现实世界为研究对象的,现实世界变了,理论不变就要出洋相。大的理论变革肯定是在大的现实变革发生以后的事儿,我的体会是今天经济学理论总体来说是工业资本主义的经济学,其特点是以实体经济为研究对象。过去30年最大的变化是工业资本主义正在走向全球金融资本主义,我用“资本主义”这个词没用市场经济,因为英文是这么讲的。这个与过去大不一样。上个月开始有三个大的现实变革,经济学家没有重视,因为经济学家没有重视这三大现实变革,导致现有经济学理论中很多主要理论,我认为七到八个主要理论失效。


第一大现实变革:货币不再是货币。尽管我们还在说这句话,传统的货币自身有内在价值,它是特殊的商品,今天就是一张纸,美元的背后不再有黄金挂钩,但是几十年下来,这张纸照样通行世界,这是一个现实。


纸货币的流通是由一个国家政治决策决定的。美国的纸货币发出来以后,由此带来的后果是货币总量即纸货币量远远超过传统意义的GDP生产和运行所需要的纸货币量。由此带来第二个现象,我称之为金融产业的内化。原来的金融产业是中介型的服务机构,把储蓄的人和投资的人连接起来的一个中介型的机构。而今天大家都知道金融体系的主要部分不再是中介型,而是自我服务、自我循环,用自己创造的别人看不懂的产品,所谓的金融衍生品,在交易中创造盈利和亏损的一个分配型的部门。第二种金融就是自我循环型的金融,和中介金融相比地位更高、规模更大。大家都知道07年次贷危机爆发之前,金融衍生品的交易余额到了600万亿美元,但是危机爆发以后评定下来还剩30万亿美元,600万亿美元是全世界GDP的多少倍了,但是它很短的时间就萎缩到30万亿,我们就可以理解这个金融行业不再是从前的金融行业了。因为金融行业发展到这么大的根本原因是金融衍生品的发展,而金融衍生品的背后是把大部分主要的生产要素,都转变为金融投资品。虽然这件事情很早就发生了,19世纪就有了,但是真正大规模发展起来是过去三四十年时间。从石油到棉花到玉米、大豆、金属,都成了交易的对象,交易所把它们一个接着一个转成投资品。


为什么指出这个?因为投资品和一般商品最大的不同在于一般商品买来是自己消费的,价格贵了我就少买,价格便宜了我就多买。但是如果是投资品就不一样,投资品是我可能是价格越高我越买,因为我觉得它还会涨。投资品当中有很长时间可以造成价格向上的,更高的价格导致更多的需求,更多的需求推动更多的价格上涨,这个叫做正反馈,和一般经济要求的负反馈正好相反。


由此导致一个大的问题,就是这个市场生产要素和其他金融衍生品组成新的金融市场上的价格,这是第一个经济学理论受到挑战的,就是均衡价格理论。在现代金融市场上资产价格的定价不再符合均衡价格。又有大宗投资当中跟风的形态,这是行为金融学里作为前提的。产生了投资者,甚至是大型投资者,产生了新的赚钱门道,大家知道亚当斯密看不见的手能够成功的根本原因,他强调我为人人,人人为我,我要赚钱,我要提供给社会。现在金融资产定价应该叫建构价格,是由国家政策、主流资本市场和市场自发力量,三者互动形成正当的,可以写出模型表述这个过程。


第二个理论是市场理论,一个国家自由经济的一般性商品市场是不是有效,在国际上有没有竞争力取决于基本要素市场,就是具有投资行为的基本要素市场下,能不能有形成这个国家有力的要素供给环境,这个要素供给环境是国家资本和市场自发力量三者互动构成的,用这个可以解释西方500年西方发展历史和发展中国家的悲剧。


第三个理论冲击是货币理论,货币数量不好办了,得扩充,原来的MA 等于PQ,这个货币数量当中的价格是物流和服务的价格,不是金融品的价格,现在得加进资产的价格,就是物资价格和资产价格构成新的价格指数,我们宏观经济学的通胀通常指物资价格。第二货币需求流向不仅仅流入实体经济,有很大的部分是流入虚拟经济。这样货币总量的度量,什么叫合适的货币量这个概念都改变了。


第四个是货币政策的传导机制开始失效。前面讲到货币、利息、投资,现在货币到利息不一定有效,货币不一定影响利息,利息不一定决定投资,我发现不是货币利息投资,而是货币市场负债,负债以后经济增长,关键看负债投到生产性资本还是投入到虚拟经济。


最后一个是中央银行,中央银行的理论和性质变了,大家都认为货币支持财政政策支持经济增长。中央银行现在成了微观资产的购买者,直接参加市场交易,最明显的是买有毒资产,买大公司的股权。后面还有一些其他的因为时间超了,开个头,总的话就是新的经济学说导致我们经济学理论正在发生内在的变革要求,关键看经济学家是不是能够面对现实,抓现实的重大问题展开自己的独立研究,如果这样再结合中国的实践,我们希望推进经济学学术进步。

 

 

——————————————————

转载需注明出处:北京当代经济学基金会