Chinese / English
Home >> Great Minds China Forum >>  1st Great Minds China Forum >>  The Future Economics Master in China: The Economic Theoretical Research and Education Reality EvaluationThe Future Economics Master in China: The Economic Theoretical Research and Education Reality Evaluation
Huang Chunxing:Attitudes for Young Scholars Devoted to Economics

I am from Taiwan, China, and teach economic theory of Austrian School for a long-term in National Tsing Hua University, studying political economics from the perspective of the Austrian school. I’ve learned of lot of discussions on problems of economics, or economics in China more specific, and how to promote economics from previous speakers today. Based on these discussions, I’d like to share views on two things that should be noticed of for the young scholars who are devoted to economics.


First, what attitudes should be taken when studying economics? Or in other words, which perspective should be taken when thinking about economic issues?


I classified the economics into three levels, or three categories. The first is called economics for the world of a single person, in which all the resources are governed by economists, including other people. Such attitude is common among economists at present, especially scholars of the neoclassical school. Is the category, or attitude good or not, right or wrong? I won’t elaborate on it since I myself am from the neoclassical school.


The second category is economics for the world of two people. Economist has realized that if the studying object is a person capable of independent thinking, then he or she might not be the resource that can be arranged. Therefore, economists have to think about what possible countermeasures may be taken. This is the game theory, the economic analysis method for the second category.


These two categories are well-developed, and many economists of the western world have received the Nobel Prize. But things have changed after entering the age of globalization and the Internet. Nowadays, we often do not know where transaction or cooperation partners are, not to mention to find them, without which, we cannot do any analyses. This is called economics for the world of many people. The competitive world is changing rapidly. We cannot analyze any issues with today’s concepts, since it can collapse at any time. The focus of economics for the world of many people is how to establish platforms to form regulations and rules. You young scholars, which perspective among the above mentioned three will you take to think about economic issues is very important.


Now come to the second view. It is known that Coase wrote in his last book that economics of the last century was dominated by the UK, but by the US in this century, and by China in the future on the premise that Chinese economists hold correct attitudes. So what is this correct attitude? Put it simply, it is that economists must know that they are economists, rather than other social sciences scholars.


More specifically, I believe the correct attitude involves the following four principles, or four attitudes in economic research. The first principle is that the pure theory is a logical construction with no geographical differences. The second principle is that since the pure theory is a logical construction, results obtained from theories on production or consuming shall apply into practice continually. Allocation is receiving more and more attention. If we discuss allocation in the future, results obtained in the past from theories on production and consuming (field) cannot be ignored but shall continue to be used.


Marginal utility theory, based on methodological individualism, is accepted by economics at present. Therefore, the third principle is that methodological individualism shall not be abandoned in promoting the development of economics. The fourth principle is the most important one, which is economics is not human science, though they two are closely related. So in economic studies, thinking or background of economists should not be asked of, since they are independent of logic emphasized by economic analyses.





◆please indicate the source if authorized: National Economics Foundation

◆photo:National Economics Foundation

中文 / English
首页 >> 思想中国论坛 >>  第一届思想中国论坛 >>  未来经济学大师在中国:中国经济理论研究与教育现状的评估未来经济学大师在中国:中国经济理论研究与教育现状的评估
黄春兴:年轻学者投身经济学研究应有的基本态度

QQ截图20170616111613.png 

(黄春兴)

我来自台湾,任教于台湾清华大学,长期研究奥地利学派经济理论,教授的课程是从奥地利学派观点去探讨的政治经济学。今天,我们从大家讨论的内容,已经听到不少如何看经济学的问题,或中国经济学的问题,或该怎么改进的检讨。我就在这些问题下,讲讲年轻的学者将来要是真的投身进来,在做研究的时候应该注意哪些东西?


我讲两个观点:

第一个观点是,研究经济学的时候,我们对问题要持怎样的思考态度?也就是说,要从何角度去思考问题?


我把经济学研究分成三个层次,或称三种范畴:第一个范畴称作一个人世界的经济学。在一个人世界的经济学里,所有的资源都是经济学家能够支配的对象,连别人都是他可以支配的。当前的经济学家常持这种态度,尤其是新古典学派的学者。这个范畴或这种态度到底好还是不好,或者对不对?因为我自己本身也是新古典学派训练出来的,今天就不多谈。


第二个范畴就是从一个人的世界进入到两个人的世界的经济学。当前的经济学家已经意识到了:我们分析的对象若是一个人,他也是一位独立思考的人,未必是我能够安排的资源。所以,我必须思考对方可能采取的对策,这就是博弈论,就是两个人世界范畴的经济分析方法。


这两个范畴都发展得非常好,包括在西方世界,也有太多的经济学家得到诺贝尔奖。但现在不太一样了,现在是全球化和网络时代。在经济活动上,我们往往不知道进行交易的对象、合作的对象在哪儿,甚至找不到他们,我们没有办法做任何分析。这是称作多人世界的经济学。世界变化很快,多人世界的竞争非常激烈,我们没有办法用今天的概念分析,因为随时都会被瓦解掉。多人世界经济学的探讨重点是怎么设立一些平台,让大家可以在里面形成一些制度和规则。各位年轻学者,如果你们想要开始思考经济学问题的话,要从哪个角度去分析?一个人世界?还是两个人世界?还是多人世界?这是相当重要的选择。


现讲第二个观点。我们知道,科斯在他的最后一本书上写到,他说上个世纪的经济学是英国主导的经济学,而这个世纪的主导者是美国,然后,到了未来应该是中国。不过,他加了一句前提:如果中国经济学家有正确态度的话。那么,这个正确态度是什么?对这个问题,我这边写了几点,若简单说,就是经济学家必须知道自己是经济学家,而不是其他社会科学的学者。


详细一点说,我认为正确态度就是不离以下四个原则,也就是经济学研究的四个态度。第一个原则,我们一定要知道纯理论是逻辑建构,不存在地域上的差别。第二个原则,纯理论既然是逻辑建构,过去在生产理论方面所获得的成果,或在消费理论获得的分析成果,依旧要继续使用。大家越来越注意分配问题,我们将来如果探讨分配问题,绝不能忽视过去在生产理论跟消费理论所获得的成果,一定要继续使用。


现在的经济学是接受边际效用理论的,而边际效用理论基本上是建立在方法论个人主义。因此,第三个原则是,如果我们要继续推展经济学,就不能离开方法论个人主义。第四个原则,也是最重要的,就是经济学不是人文科学。虽然经济学跟人文科学有很紧密的关系,但既然不是人文科学,在经济学研究,就不要过问经济学家的思想或个人背景,因为个人的思想或背景是和经济分析所强调的逻辑无关的。

 

 

 

 

   

——————————————————

转载需注明出处:北京当代经济学基金会