Chinese / English
Home >> Great Minds China Forum >>  1st Great Minds China Forum >>  The Pain Points and Difficulties of China’s Economics Research DevelopmentThe Pain Points and Difficulties of China’s Economics Research Development
Zhang Jun:Theory Discoverers Are More Needed



 (Jun Zhang, dean of School of Economics at Fudan University, director of China Center for Economic Studies, council member of National Economics Foundation. The following is the keynote speech by Professor Zhang at Great Minds China Forum on 12th Spetember.)


Previous speakers criticized that mainstream economic researches in western countries were fixed with models and stayed more at theoretical level. On the contrary, economic researches in China, (I think), needs more theories. Lacking of theories is the major obstacle that makes Chinese economists fail to lead international researches on Chinese economy. A recent survey collected essays published on international journals and found that less than 30% essays on Chinese economy were from mainland China. That is to say, 2/3 of essays on Chinese economy were from foreign economists. Such phenomenon, to a large extent, exposes the low level and poor quality of China’s economic research.


China has witnessed a rapid but unique development in economic research since the reform and opening up. For instance, school of economics at universities in Southeast Asia or other middle-income countries are highly specialized. Studies of most teachers and economists are highly theoretical and abstract, which contrasts greatly with researches of teachers in China.

While, if in Russia or countries in Eastern Europe, which were the socialist planned economy and now the transition economy, I have an interesting finding that they share similarities with us in terms of economic research. One of the reasons is that we are close in norms of research and thought patterns. But I have to say that the transformation of norms of economic research is faster than that in Russia or countries in Eastern Europe in the period of economic transition.


This is the starting point to observe China’s economic research, and we are indeed experiencing such transition. This leads to the fact that the proportion of well-trained young scholars working on economics is quite small in universities, though the number of young scholars is increasing constantly in recent years.


Since countries in Northern Europe or Southeast Asia haven’t experienced the transition period of researching norms, economic research in those countries are different from us and without the mark of transition. Scholars pay much less attention on empirical evidence or discussions on policies. Nowadays, in Chinese universities, scholars working on economics seem are only incapable of discussing experience and policies, but not that interested in or do not make due efforts on developing theories. Therefore, although I understand and sympathize with professors in economics from developed countries that economic research should be less theoretical and methodologies be more diversifiedthey should not be excuses of the backward level of economic research. I believe the major problem is that the current economic research in China is not theoretical enough.


We have to admit the rapid development of economic research in China since 90s. The past 20 years has witnessed a great improvement in the level of economic research in China. Although empirical research enjoys rapid development, theoretical development lags far behind. Therefore, theories, conceptualization and models, which are criticized by previous speakers, are needed in China. I believe it is the greatest challenge faced by economic research in China, to a large extent, because of the growing demand of policies in the period of economic development of transition. I suppose scholars working on economic theories are more guided and driven by the need of policies, thus devote less time in developing theories or establishing simpler models and theories based on empirical research.


If we want to contribute to the development of economics, economic research in China must be more abstract and theoretical. It is can be said that, at least experience from the past, more abstract and theoretical is the only way to make contributions to economic disciplines, and human knowledge at large.


But I am not sure whether our passion for empirical and policy research will bring in the stage of theoretical innovation. I attended a meeting in the UK and met a professor of management in Cambridge. He talked about the status quo of innovation in Chinese enterprises, based on which, he classified two innovative concepts. He found that many Chinese outstanding enterprises, such as Huawei, Alibaba, Tencent and Xiaomi are successful innovative enterprises, but can not be said to be pioneers. Therefore, he offered two concepts to clarify. One is “pioneering innovation” occurs when a brand new thing is introduced into the market. The other is “best practice innovation”, which is practiced by most Chinese enterprises. But we can not answer if it is a must to go through best practice innovation to pioneering innovation.


Original theories on economic research are relatively rare, sime most of us are doing empirical and policy research. I am not saying these studies are not important. They are important. But if only stay in empirical and policy research, we may not make greater contributions to economics. The value of economics, as a social science, is not only to figure out the relevance and causal relationship among specific empirical variables, but more importantly, to establish general and simple theories. The theory is knowledge that can be shared by mankind. It can produce appropriate conclusions suitable for specific cases by changing initial conditions.


Therefore, we need to pay attention to the current situation and problems, and to step forward based on empirical research. I do not object empirical research, but hope that more people will do theoretical (research) in the near future. I do not know why so many people devote to empirical research but not interested in developing theories. I hope empirical research can promote research on theories, and I suppose such transition is promising in China.


In this respect, economic research in China needs to be more professional. That is to say, more of us should take economics as a career, rather than analyzing policies or offering consulting. Professionalism requires economics and school of economics to be simpler and purer, and teachers of economics teachers more naïve as well. Scholars will only need to devote in establishing better theories based on observation. I believe it is necessary in the future.


On this basis, the development of economics in China is very promising. Coase said that China is endowed with so many excellent young men, thus should have a significant contribution to economics. I do not deny that it is the best time for us to observe China’s experience. But if stop at the stage of empirical research and satisfied with the fact that China is a theoretical laboratory to test existing theories, then we can not make greater contributions to economics.


I talked with Myron Scholes, the Nobel Laureate in Economic Sciences in 1997, who provides a conceptual framework for valuing options, in Shanghai in May. I did not talk finance with him at the beginning, but asked him how did he establish such a great formula, which is regarded as one of the 17 equations that has changed the human society. Moreover, it is the only discovery from social sciences among the 17 equations. He is obviously not an investor or financial buyer, but a pure person. His finding was from his academic curiosity, which deeply attracted me. His experience make I feel pure young men are needed nowadays, who can establish the simplest, and most abstract theories based on more important experience. In short, what we need are theory discoverers than experience observers.





◆please indicate the source if authorized: National Economics Foundation

◆photo:National Economics Foundation

中文 / English
张军:我们更需要理论的发现者


QQ截图20170616104511.png

张军)

张军,现任复旦大学经济学院院长,复旦大学中国经济研究中心主任,北京当代经济学基金会学术委员。张军教授是中国具有影响力的经济学家,担任多个国际经济学期刊的编委. 对中国的工业改革、经济增长和当代中国的经济政策有深厚的研究。张军教授于9月12日亲临思想中国论坛并发主旨演讲。以下为张军教授的演讲实录:)


与前面多位发言人讲到的西方主流经济研究过于模型化,过于理论的问题正好相反,中国经济研究发展的状况是还不够理论,太没有理论,这是我们今天中国经济学家的研究还不能主导国际上中国经济研究领域的主要障碍。最近有人做过一个统计,国际上发表的关于中国经济研究的论文当中,其实只有不到30%的论文来自于中国大陆的经济学家,换句话说,2/3的论文作者是在中国以外,我觉得这个现象实际上很大程度上暴露了中国经济研究水平和质量的问题。


改革开放以后中国经济研究水平的发展速度很快,但是这个发展过程当中,有一个跟其他的很多国家不同的地方,比如我们到东南亚,或是去其他的中等收入国家,去访问他们大学的经济系,我们会发现他们经济系高度专业化、大多数教师或经济学者的研究都高度的理论、高度的抽象,这个跟中国目前高校里面的经济学院或经济系教师的研究状况形成强烈的反差。


当然, 如果我们去俄罗斯或是东欧的一些国家,这些国家曾经都是社会主义计划经济,现在也是转型的经济体, 我到那里访问会有一个非常有趣的感受,就是在经济研究方面它跟我们很像,或者倒过来说我们跟他们很像。一个很重要的方面就是大家研究的范式与思维惯性比较接近,不过,处于转型的时候,在某些方面中国大陆经济学研究的范式转型比他们还要快一点。


这个是我们今天观察中国经济研究状况的出发点,就是我们其实是在经历这样的研究转型。这就导致在我们高校从事经济研究的学者或教师队伍里面,尽管我们这些年不断的在更新,一些受过很好训练的年轻学者在不断增加,但总体而言,他们与传统教师部分的比例还是很小。


正因为没有经历经济学研究范式的转型时期,所以,如果我们到北欧,哪怕我们到东南亚的国家,因为他们没有经历过这个阶段,他的经济学研究通常情况下没有这样一个转型的色彩,所以那里的很多人不会更多的关心非常经验的东西,更不关心很多政策的讨论。今天在我们大学里面,我们的经济研究工作者力所能及的似乎就是对经验和政策的讨论, 对发展理论的兴趣和努力非常不够..。 所以虽然我也理解和同情刚才那些来自于发达国家的经济学教授们对改变经济研究过于理论化的呼吁和他们倡导的经济研究方法的多元化,但是我还是认为这不能为我们经济研究水平的落后提供辩护. 我们的最大问题是经济研究太不理论化。


我们得承认中国经济研究进步的很快. 九十年代以来差不多在20年时间里,中国经济研究水平提升了不小.不过,我们看到进步最快的是经验实证研究,理论研究我觉得还远远的滞后。所以,前面大家批评的这些公理的东西、概念化的东西以及模型化,这些东西在我们这里变得非常的短缺,我觉得这是我们经济学研究目前碰到的很大的挑战。我想这个困难大概跟我们现在的经济发展、经济转型过程当中对政策的需求不断增长有很大的关系。今天我想,对从事经济研究的这些理论工作者而言,可能他受到更多的关于政策方面的需求的引导、需求的驱动,所以他反而没有更多的时间来从事理论工作, 没有时间考虑在经验研究基础之上怎么进一步抽象到更简单的模型和更简单的理论上来。


 如果我们要对经济学做出贡献,我觉得经济研究在中国必须要走向抽象,必须要走向这个理论化的阶段,因为至少从过去看来, 这是对经济学科、对人类的知识有贡献的唯一的渠道。


 但我不确定我们现在对经验和政策研究的热衷是否必然会迎来理论创新的阶段. 最近,我到英国去参加会议,碰到剑桥一位做管理学的教授,他讲到中国企业创新的现状,在对这个现状国产的基础上,他区分了两个创新的概念.  因为他发现中国的很多优秀的企业,比如华为, 阿里巴巴, 腾讯和小米都是创新型的企业, 很成功, 但都不能说是开了先河. 所以他们给出了两个概念来区别这两个现象。第一个概念叫全新的创新, 以前没有的创新;第二种创新, 就像中国大多数企业目前做的创新,是创新再造. 但是,  从再造到全新的创新是不是必然,这个现在我们不能回答。


在经济研究方面, 我们目前原创的理论还比较少,因为我们大多数人再做经验研究和政策研究,这些研究我不是说不重要,也是很重要的东西,但是仅仅停留在经验研究和政策研究上,就未必能对经济学有更大的贡献。经济学作为社会科学, 对人类的真正的贡献不仅仅要找到具体经验变量之间的相关性和因果关系,更重要的是发现那些可以一般化的简单的理论来. ,这个理论才是可以被人类共享的知识,它可以通过改变一些初始条件来推导出适合具体的案例情形的结论来。


所以,我觉得我们需要注意这个现状和问题, 还是需要在经验研究基础上能够再跨一步.我不反对有人做经验研究,但我希望将来有更多的人做理论. 我不知道我们今天怎么来解释为什么今天这么多的人做经验研究,为什么大家对做理论并不是那么感兴趣。 我也希望经验研究对做理论的研究有一个正面的推动,我预料这个转型中国还是很有希望的。


从这个意义上来讲,经济研究在中国还需要更加职业化,就是我们要有更多的人把经济学当成他的职业,而不是多去做政策,多去做咨询。要做到职业化, 经济学还必须变得更单纯,经济系还必须变得更纯粹,经济系的教师们也变得更天真,就是大家也许只需要在经验观察基础上去执着地寻找更好的理论,我觉得未来要有这样的转变。


在这个基础上我觉得经济学在中国的发展还是很有希望的。科斯讲过中国有这么优秀的年轻人,应该在经济学上对人类有重大的贡献。我不否认现在是一个值得我们观察中国经验最好的时候,但是, 如果我们仅仅停留在经验研究阶段, 满足于把中国当做已有理论的实验室, 那我们不能对经济学作出更大贡献。


五月份在上海我跟97年诺贝尔经济学奖的得主、期权定价的发现者--迈伦 斯科尔斯有过对话。在对话里, 我一上来没有跟他谈金融,我是跟他谈他怎么发现了这个公式,这是个了不起的公式, 因为这个公式被说成是改变人类社会的17个方程之一,而且这是17个方程中唯一来自社会科学的发现。他显然不是投资和金融界的实战家, 他是一位很单纯的人, 他的发现是基于他的学术好奇心,我觉得这点非常令我感兴趣。从这个里面我就感觉到,我们当下缺少的其实是更单纯的年轻人,大家在这个时候能够基于更重要的经验来写出最简单的、最抽象的理论. 总之,我们现在缺少的应该不是经验观察者,我觉得缺的最多的是更理论的发现者。

 

 

 

 

 

——————————————————

转载需注明出处:北京当代经济学基金会