Chinese / English
Home >> Great Minds China Forum >>  1st Great Minds China Forum >>  The Difficulties, Challenges and Opportunities of Contemporary EconomicsThe Difficulties, Challenges and Opportunities of Contemporary Economics
James Mirrlees:Relevance Study in Economics

 

 (James Mirrlees: Born in 1936 in Minnigaff, Scotland, Sir James Mirrlees is a fundamental contributor to the “theory of incentives”. He is Honorary Professor at University of Cambridge, academician of British Academy as well as academician of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He taught at Oxford University for a long time, and was the president of Econometric Society and the president of the Royal Economic Society. Sir James Mirrlees was knighted by the Queen of the United Kingdom. In 1996, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences due to his significant contributions to the economic theory of incentives under asymmetric information. In addition, Sir James Mirrlees received the Royal Medal of the Royal Society of Edinburgh in 2009. As a 79-year-old leading scholar in the global economic circle, Sir James Mirrlees has been firmly committed to the economics research with an attitude of “never say ‘what you should do’”. In recent years, Sir James Mirrlees has been paying attention to China’s economic development and contributing to the promotion of China’s economics.)

 

 (China’s economy is in the transformation period; therefore, there are a lot of confusions to solve, responsibilities to shoulder, and opportunities to seize. Taking the opportunity of the grand opening of the first “Great Minds China Forum” (“9·12”) held in Beijing, the National Economics Foundation invited Professor James Mirrlees, the 1996 Nobel Prize Winner in Economic Sciences, to deliver an insightful speech on the development of economics and China’s economic research on “Great Minds China Forum”. The following is the speech transcript of Professor James Mirrlees.)

 

I hope this will be illuminating for some of you at least. But I thought it was appropriate to me, not knowing all that much about the economics as it has done currently in China, to talk about the issues in contemporary economics. So I thought, what can I talk about in 15 minutes? So I thought I should talk about everything. But I will do it by some examples.

 

It is a rather striking feature of economics: how increasingly important, the factual side has become empirical economics for theorists. It may sound to outsiders perfectly straightforward remark. But a great deal of economic theory is based on acquaintance of factors and how it works. So anyone can easily make observations about the existence of prices, and money, and think about how people must really interact. But over recently years, it has become increasingly important.

 

A valuable economics relies on something that physicist don’t have to worry about: judgement of relevance. What I mean is that something different between actually measuring something and deciding the model you’ve used. I’ll give the obvious example of tax theory, of how you can make recommendations about particular tax rates. We got to use some model, we say a simplified model, but a model of reality that we do not claim to be a precise description of reality. So we have to make a judgement that our model is sufficiently relevant that the results of our analysis are valuable.

Now it’s hard or maybe impossible, actually to prove relevance. There is something very strange about economics and social sciences. But some relatively hard sciences have the same kinds of issues. Some science for example, has to decide they are dealing with models that are sufficiently precise, that they give an adequate presentation of reality. For many questions, nowadays, it has become increasingly important for theory to find better specifications of the models. I want to illustrate what I mean about that. The content, the relevance of the models has become increasingly important with the questions that we had to get into. There are three examples I’m going to speak of.

 

Investment. I’ll say production decisions, macroeconomics, and behavior of economics. There isn’t exactly a recognized theory here called theory of production decisions. But perhaps should be. The topic is generally discussed under the moral hazard. Seems to me it’s really rather a big set of issues. What am I talking about? Production outcomes, are of course uncertain. That’s a very important general fact about the world and about the economics. The outcome distribution, I mean the probability distribution of the outcomes, is definitely determined by decisions that are not observable. The process of decision taking is not observable. This is what we refer to as the phenomenon of moral hazard. What I have in mind is that when the chief executive of the company decides who to appoint for some important positions of management within the company, we cannot tell quite how carefully he has considered the issue. When somebody in the end decides which of various possible investment decisions will be taken, we cannot tell quite how carefully the necessary background researchers has been done and whether the appropriate attention has been given to advice from different sources.

 

So what I’m saying is the situation is very like the situation that people talk about when they talk about moral hazard and medical care, where decisions have to be made, which will not be trackable. So incentives began to be very important. There is a general proposition. It said, unlike standard wealth economics, it is not, as it stands, a tremendously useful result. And the question is what to do about that. The theory is that whatever principles you have, you could implement an optimal system by contracts between risk neutral insurance companies and the people, the entities, the businesses that are actually taking the decisions. For example, a loan contract, which takes the form of saying that the sample proportion of profits will be paid to the entity that has made the loan. For the theory to be correct, these contracts must be non-tradeable contracts. As to say you can have one contract with one particular lender but you cannot do it within the others. It has to be like a fire insurance contract, where you can only take out the insurance contract with one company.

 

This is the point which becomes totally impossible to implement it. It should in principle cover all aspects of the producers’ trade. So the contract is supposed in theory to take over the whole behavior of the company, of the individual. A standard example of that is that people have driving insurance, which simply relates the amount it has paid in later premiums, to the accident record of the driver. But you should also have the controls over the amount of driving that driver does. Not something this easy for an insurance company to observe. It happens here, an interesting and important argument for taxation of petrol, gasoline. But that’s only one aspect.

 

The same applies in the theory I’m talking about now. There are implications of this that I think we can rest on already. We can say that, for example, securitization of loans, as it has done with CDOs and a number of other derivatives, is completely undesirable, and not to be prevented. And that doesn’t require any more precise modeling. But thinking about this very important major situation with the world, most of what we would want to do means we should be saying not just there should be a contract, but what kind of information somebody creating the contract might use, and how he would actually work out the form of the contract. Questions like what proportion of profits should be paid for such and such loan? What is the typical structure of contracts of these kind? And you cannot do that without having a much more, a much better determining model than any others having at the moment for things of those kind. So we have to deal with that by having better underlying models. It is sort of empirical and theoretical task together, requiring acts of considerably imagination. And we also have to find ways of handling in a second best or third best kind of way, this completeness requirement which is too severe.

 

 Another example that strikes me very much like this is the whole issue of macroeconomics and policy. This is against the background of me being very Keynesian. People don’t think of me as Macroeconomist. Quite right, I’m not. But it doesn’t stop me thinking about it. And in broad terms I find Keynes very persuasive, although one has to make enormous modifications of one’s understanding of it in the real world, where trade is very important, if there’s unemployment of labor. And unemployment of labor means the economy is not in equilibrium. And that means it is not going to just stick there like that, something is going to change. And things do change. We need models that to set equilibrium dynamics, which actually explain, why it is that nevertheless the general idea of Keynesian in that equilibrium make sense. Not an equilibrium in a proper sense. This is not the occasion that I can go into the details what I have in mind. But I think the situation here is that I’m asking people to create models where they don’t have the normal guidance that you get from economic ideas, saying what would be the rational thing for people to do under these circumstances, what sort of information should they get, what should they do. Because many of the situations people are in, it doesn’t somehow seem quite sense to say you should change the price by this much, because it is the rational thing to do. Anyway, nobody is coming up with anything like that. And this seems to be another example, where one needs to do much better modeling when we have.

 

And my last example, imperfect rationality, which is something I have given a fair amount of thought to it. Of course, nobody doubts that there’s plenty of behavior that’s not rational. What do I mean by “not rational”? What I mean is not what you would do if you are wanting to achieve some particular ends, either for yourself or for other people. And there are a lot of examples sounds the way it might be impossible to prove this. There are some models, empirically based, particularly the sort of models that then affect others that have used for transport mode choice. But they are not some have great generality. There are also some very interesting models for labor markets. Reciprocity, is the one that we use in this area. That’s a little more controversial.

But models really ought to somehow relate behavior to interests of people, to help their well-being, and perhaps other people’s well-being as well. Because otherwise you cannot use the models for discussing what I think some of the most important issues here, which are policy issues. Because actually, if you think about it, a lot of policy issues on how realistic your ideas or model of less than perfectly rational behavior are. Behaviors are in mind of pensions of course, which is somewhere a lot of discussion, on a whole too implicitly. It is relying on some people not have been made the right choices, given the circumstance of what we should do about it. Financial regulation, which would take us back, perhaps my first example as well. And tax complexity, whether there is much of an idea that it would be a good idea to greatly simplify tax schedules, where this theory tends to say that it’s a very good idea to extremely complex and comprehensible tax schedules. This is an area where you put down a particular model, and people would say but that’s not what it’s like. There are lots of other problems as well, but we only have 15 minutes.

 

Thank you very much.

 

 

 

◆please indicate the source if authorized: National Economics Foundation

◆photo:National Economics Foundation

中文 / English
诺奖得主莫里斯:经济学中的相关性研究

 QQ截图20170616104206.png

詹姆斯•莫里斯

(詹姆斯·莫里斯,1936年生于苏格兰的明尼加夫,是经济学激励理论的奠基者,剑桥大学荣誉教授,英国科学院院士,美国艺术与科学院院士,曾长期任教于牛津大学,任国际经济计量学会会长、英国皇家经济学会会长,被英国女王授予爵士头衔,并在1996年由于其在信息经济学理论领域,尤其是不对称信息条件下的经济激励理论的论述做出的重大贡献,获当年诺贝尔经济学奖。此外,莫里斯还于2009年获得了由爱丁堡皇家学会授予的皇家勋章。就是这样一位现已79岁高龄,坚持着“永远不要说‘你应该怎么做’”的生活态度的世界经济学界泰斗,仍然坚定地行走在经济学研究之路上。近年来,莫里斯对中国经济发展投以关注的目光,并热衷于推动中国经济学的发展。)

 

处在转型期的中国经济,有太多的困惑需要厘清,有太多的责任需要承担,更有太多的机会需要把握。时值首届思想中国论坛(“9.12”)在京盛大召开之际,当代经济学基金会特邀1996年诺贝尔经济学奖获得者詹姆斯·莫里斯教授于9月12日亲临思想中国论坛为经济学发展及中国经济研究拨云见雾,指点迷津。以下为詹姆斯·莫里斯教授的演讲实录:

 

我对于中国现在经济学的研究并非有一个非常全面的了解,但是我对于当代经济理论的研究还是有点自己的观点,今天我的演讲肯定不能面面俱到,时间有限,通过几个例子跟大家分享交流。坦率地说,经济学的研究方法各不相同,我将介绍的只是其中的一些。在经济发展过程当中有一些非常独特的特点,但其实很多的外部非专家的人员是无法理解的。我觉得经济学理论当中很重要的一个内容,就是它的经济理论的有效性。大家可以对现有经济理论很好的进行价格或者价值的预测。最近我们愈加发现,经济研究理论的重要性在于揭示不同的经济因素之间是如何产生关联的,即相关性研究。

 

价值经济学理论取决于我们对于相关性的一种判断,什么叫做相关性的判断呢?它不是简单的一种测量,我们要作出一个决定,就是说他所采纳的模型是非常明显的例子。比如说税收理论,你如何才能对某一个税率进行非常理性的判断,到底哪一个比例才是合理的税率,有些是简单化的模型,这些模型都是基于现实的。我们希望通过这种非常精准的模型,能够对现在的现实进行解释。当然我要保证的是这个模型与最终我们的分析结果高度相关的,而且他们是充满价值的。其实这种相关性的判断是很难的,我觉得这是经济作为一种社会研究非常困难的一面。

 

其实这种相关性的研究的基础非常困难,我们必须要决定它的模型本身要非常的精准,它能够充分体现现实当中的变动情况。还有一些其他的问题也是愈发具有重要性的,就是理论。那就是我们要找到对这个模型更为精准的描述,我们要找到它们的背景,我们要知道它们的相关性。现在对于整个模型对于现实的反映变得越来越重要。下面,我举三个例子。

 

首先是投资,它由生产决定,包括宏观经济,还有经济行为。我们有这样的一种认知型的理论,叫做生产决定理论,应该有这样的理论才对。然而事实上由于道德风险等因素的存在,产出的结果其实是不可确定的。事实上,这是我们一个非常广泛存在的经济现象。第二种就是概率的分布了,那就是由其他的东西决定的,那就是很多结果的事实概率分布是没有办法观测到的决定来决定的,所以这就导致了很多产出型的决定、产出型的结果是不可进行精确测量的。所以对于我们很多从事公司管理重要决策的人来说,作出这样的生产决定非常的难也非常重要,所以我们有时候很难判断每个经理人作出生产性决定,他是怎么想的,所以有时候我们也很难判断他到底会为生产怎么去做投资。因此,在这里我们要做大量必要的背景调查,而且要知道每个人具体做的决定怎么样,才有可能得出产出的决定结果。

 

所以,当人们谈到像医保这些问题当中经济学道德风险的时候,我们肯定是避免不了做决定时要面临很多问题的。还有一些其他的建议。我现在讲的普通的建议或者定理,跟我们传统的福利经济学不一样,因为它有着更为广泛意义的结果,那么无论你手上有什么样的原则,比如说贷款的协议,可能其中还有一些利润,是在这个放款的实体当中获得的,要向他们支付的。那么这样的一些合同,不一定是完全正确的,它们应该是不可交易的合约。你跟一个人借款签了合同,但是不能把借款协议拿去交易,有点像保险的协议是一样的。所以说,你只能从一个公司出保险。

 

但是这样的做法是非常难以执行的,而且这个合约本身也要涵盖生产者在交易过程中的所有方面,应该是完全的借款协议。我们有这样的例子,汽车保险的保险的涨价和溢价是出了驾驶事故之后提高的,那么随着驾驶量的增加,有些东西是保险公司没有办法事前观测到的。所以说我们在征税和保险方面的争论也非常多,这只是我们讲的一个方面。

 

在这里有很多的问题都可以在这里解决,包括我们的金融保险性的东西,包括CDO等等,很多的东西都存在,但是他们都存在着很多的问题,我们好像是在对未来进行保障,但是事实上你没有办法知道未来准确的情况,所以你在这里谈对未来的保障其实有点空中楼阁。所以有的人说这不能仅仅是一个协议、合同协议,还要了解更多的信息。我们必须要知道,制定了这个协议和合同的人,在未来会怎样使用这个合同。而且我们要知道,为了借到这个贷款,我们要付出其他哪些利润,但是我们很多时候做不到这些。我们要想决定这些东西的变化,我们需要更加复杂的变量模型,所以很多时候我们要有更多潜在的模型才能知道,才能相对较好的了解未来的情况,有的时候甚至还要付出一定的想象,而且有的时候我们还要找到方法,要找到次优和第三优的情形。

 

还有一个例子,就是我们的宏观经济学还有政策方面的问题,有的时候有点违反我作为凯恩斯学派经济学家身份的背景,但是我不会因为我是这样的学术背景而停止这方面的思考。我觉得凯恩斯讲的很有道理,他给我们一个很好的思考的大体框架,能够让我们知道我们思考的方向在哪里。如果我们劳动力失业的话,我们首先要知道有失业劳动力就意味着经济处在不均衡的状态,也就意味着我们要改变经济当中的一些东西才行,而且当变化确实发生的时候,我们有时候就需要使用凯恩斯主义的模型了解非均衡下的动态状况,我们必须要解释凯恩斯总体的经济理论是什么,在非动态的情况下是不是有道理的,怎么样解释这样的道理。我们现在的情况在于,我问人们,我要人们创立一些模型,在这些模型当中让大家尽量摒弃传统经济学模型中的指导,让他们说如果让你们做这样的模型,你们会寻找哪些信息做这样的模型,但是做出来的东西不一定完全有道理,有的人在变化价格,大家有人说这样做是有道理的,但是没有任何人做出有实质性结果的新的模型,这又是让我想到的另一个方面,就是宏观经济和政策方面需要有更好的模型建设。

 

现在我们很多发表出来的东西同样值得改进,毫不怀疑,我们讲到不完美的理性主义,很多经济学假设当中都认为经济学所有参与者行为是理性,事实上无数证据表明人们是不理性的,很多时候大家都会有自己独特行为的目的,导致人们行为的不理性,我们在这里有很多很多的例子,很多时候你都没有办法去证明它。还有很多模型是由经验主义建立成的。它会给我们带来很多其他的选择,但是他们不具有普适性,尽管他们是非常非常有趣的模型,比如劳动力市场,我们在这个领域当中其实也用很多这样的东西,他们实际所反映出来的结果和我们观察的结果没有那么多矛盾的,但是却是经验主义得出来的结果。

 

所以,我们模型应该把他们的行为和利益结合起来,我觉得我们应该基于这样的思路建立起劳动力市场的模型才行。我们如果不这样做就没有办法把我们模型拿出来用来讨论真正重要的事情,比如如何制定真正重要的政策。我们建立起一个模型是要达到很多的想法,很多的收支性模型就能反映出一定程度的非理性行为,比如养老金政策,很多时候就意味着很多人进行养老金选择时不一定能够作出最优的选择。还包括金融监管,回到我刚才讲到的第一个例子,税制的问题。也许,我们是不是可以有一个更为简单的税制呢?很多时候根据理论来说,我们简单税制会更好一些,但是事实上我们税制现在设置的很复杂。像过去就是因为税务复杂性的问题引起我在这方面的研究,而且有时候可以研究特定领域具体的模型。

 

我们未来有很多工作要做,我们还面临很多其他经济学的问题。在你提出一个问题之后,你需要研究许多其它事情,以便真正理解你自己提出的问题。经常见到的现象是你思考某个问题几年或几十年之后才得到真正的进步。

 

所提的问题不要太模糊或太大,比如说解决贫困问题就是一个既大又含糊不清的问题。问一个准确的问题,其意义在于能找到答案。虽然你觉得这个问题看上去没有道理,但仍然需要思考其答案,使你自己明白你的目的是什么。

 

很多人和我一样,都认为好的开端就是建立模型。不要试图设想一个绝对现实的世界,而是要试图找到一个简化了的世界并对其进行研究。模型有一个临界点,超过这一点,模型越复杂,就越不现实,这看上去有点矛盾,但我认为确实如此。不可能在一个大模型中将所有因素进行较好地考虑。模型需要浪费很多资源。你可能想做的是将模型建得更简单些。但模型的意义在于它必须精确。

 

 

 

 ——————————————————

 转载需注明出处:北京当代经济学基金会