Chinese / English
Home >> Great Minds China Forum >>  1st Great Minds China Forum >>  The Pain Points and Difficulties of China’s Economics Research DevelopmentThe Pain Points and Difficulties of China’s Economics Research Development
Bai Chongen:Discussions on Economic Studies in China from Perspectives of Demand

 

 Although independence and interests are important, supply and demand, I’d like to say, should never be ignored if analyzing economic studies based on the framework of economics. Are there any problems in demand and supply, especially in China? First, emphasizing on demand refers to the price or rewards of outcome of economic studies, which I think is of great importance. Though research interests are important, they are the external stimulus in nature. While the demand is the decisive factor, thus of great importance.

 

I read Home Bias by a financial professor from Cornell University few days ago, in which the author discussed an academic paradox with data analysis. What did he find? He gathered data of empirical studies from top 14 academic journals in financial studies, and found that 77% essays adopted data collected within America and less than 23% essays used data collected outside America. If turn to the GDP percentage of each country, America accounts for much less than 77% of global GDP. However, 77% empirical studies in top 14 financial journals of the world employ data collected within America.

 

Then here comes the problem. It is the guidance. Which country should I study if I work on finance? Obviously, chances of essays studying America to be published are as high as 77%, while essays studying other countries only have 23% chances to be published. Is it because that universities in America outnumber that in other countries, thus much more published essays are about America? The professor analyzed data, and found that numbers of American universities and research institutions in other countries could not explain percentages of 23% and 77%. Then, is it because that PhDs in America are much more than that in other countries? Negative again. The professor analyzed, and found that it could not explain such phenomenon, which he named as “home bias”. Of course, he is American, thus “home” refers to America. While for other countries, such phenomenon is “foreign bias” rather than “home bias”. The professor also explored “foreign bias” in the essay.

 

We skip methodology but focus on research objects today, which becomes the guidance of studies to be conducted. We start to import well-trained lecturers from overseas who have a good master of research tools. What researches are they working on? Most work on issues raised in foreign countries with data collected in other countries, although they are Chinese and teach in China. Such guidance is so powerful but is unfavorable to us. It does guide researches in China, making qualified Chinese issue-oriented researches rare, as Mr. Zhang mentioned. I believe it is both the pain point and the difficulty in developing economics in China.

 

Why take it as the difficulty? Since the guidance does not work for China, can we establish one that fits in with realities in China? Mr. Zhang has pointed out that domestic journals publish unqualified essays irresponsibly under the imperfect evaluation system. It is not the problem of biased guidance, but of backward technologies. Foreign guidance does not work for China although with justice, while domestic evaluation system is not fair or accurate enough. I believe that it is an important issue in the development of economic studies in China. This is the unique issue only for social sciences in China. Mathematics, physics, or chemistry does not have such issue, since these subjects don't involve the question that which country is the data collected. The guidance is important for it guides all social studies.

 

The essays also discussed its implications, one of which is for directors of school of economics. What guidance shall be taken when directors employ, evaluate and promote researchers? The guidance, which refers to 77% essays on issues of America, twists the market, depriving studies on issues of other countries of due attention. Therefore, shall we make corrections when evaluate researchers? The author has put forward the question. I am glad that over 50 leaders of school of economics are present. Shall we make some adjustments of evaluation system? This is my first point, as for the demand.

From the perspective of supply, we have both difficulties and advantages to do economic researches in China. Lots of problems worthy of studying can be found everyday, but difficulty lies in how to conduct thorough studies. One of the difficulties is external influence, as Mr. Zhang said, the independence. Besides, we have to attend many meetings and do lots of administrative work. In addition, limited accessibility of data makes it more difficult. Data that are easy to be obtained in other countries become hard to be accessed to in China. Only those with extensive connections can access to it. To be an outstanding economist, one has to be a good entrepreneur first, otherwise one cannot access to data. This is the problem of supply.

 

 

Second, the poor observability or measurability makes another difficulty. Chenggang mentioned institutional issues, and that telescope played an important role in the development of methodology. As for us, there are great difficulties in studying institutional issues, the most important one in studying economics. I haven’t see the prospect of it. We need more transparency and X-ray machines rather than telescopes are needed, so that we can go through the superficial level to the core content of the system. How can one establish a theoretical framework to picture the system without basic observation or knowledge of the content of this system? I don’t know the resolution. I hope that people within or familiar with the system can have more communication with scholars, to make scholars, especially the young scholars, have an idea of the system. Honestly, we even have no idea of the system! I hope scholars can also take initiative to learn from people who are familiar with the system, so that scholars can learn of the background of system, thus establishing theoretical models that fit in with realities in China and benefits China.

 (Organized according to records)

 

 

 

◆please indicate the source if authorized: National Economics Foundation

◆photo:National Economics Foundation

中文 / English
白重恩:从需求和供给两个角度谈中国经济学研究

QQ截图20170616104511.png

从需求和供给两个角度谈中国经济学研究

(白重恩)

我想讲一下,尽管独立性,人们的兴趣等等,都很重要。但是如果我们用经济学的框架分析经济学研究的话,可能要看经济学研究的供给和需求,我们的供给和需求是不是有什么问题,尤其是中国经济学研究的供给和需求出现了什么问题。我先从需求这个角度来看,讲需求就要看价格,就是看我这样的经济学研究如果产生了成果能得到什么样的价格,得到什么样的回报,这个我觉得是很重要的,因为这是指挥棒,尽管人们内在的兴趣也很重要,但是外在的激励,这种指挥棒也还是很重要的。


前两天我看到这样一篇文章,是康乃尔大学的一个金融学教授写的文章,文章题目《本地偏向》,学术中的一个悖论,他就做了一些数据的分析。他发现什么呢?他在金融学里找了14篇顶尖的期刊,看这些期刊里实证的研究都是用的哪一国的数据,结果发现少于23%的文章是用美国之外的数据,其他的77%的文章是用美国的数据,如果我们看各个国家在世界GDP中占的体量,美国显然没有占77%,但是全世界最顶尖的14本金融学的期刊上有77%的实证文章用的美国数据。


那么这就有问题了,这就有导向了。我如果是一个做金融的人,我应该研究哪个国家的问题?明显的,研究美国问题有77%的机会被发表,被发表机会的比是77%比23%,那么是不是美国的学校特别多,所以有大量的文章发表的关于美国的?这个教授也做了分析,发现这个关系就是美国有多少学校跟世界上其他国家有多少研究机构,这个完全不能解释23%和77%的比例,那么是不是美国培养的PHD学生多,其他国家少,所以造成了这样的现象,也不是,他也做了,发现也不能解释。他就把这个叫“Home  bias”,当然他是从美国人的角度,美国作为Home,作研究的偏向是偏向于美国的。那么作为美国之外的,那就不是Home  bias而是Foreign  bias,其实他里面也有讲到Foreign  bias,就是这样的问题。


我们还不谈这个方法论的问题,我们只讲研究的对象,这个研究的对象就造成了这样的指挥棒,比如说我们现在也开始从海外引进一些在海外受过很好的训练,经济学研究工具都掌握很好的教师,他们做什么研究?大部分的还是用外国的数据做外国的问题,尽管这些人是中国人,在中国的学校教书,但是他们仍然做外国的问题,用外国的数据,这个指挥棒太有力了,不是利益的利,是力量的力,对我们非常不利。它真是引导了我们的研究,像张老师说的问题,中国问题导向的高质量研究非常非常的少了,我觉得这是我们必须面对的问题,刚才讲到中国经济学的痛点和难点,我觉得这既是痛点也是难点。


为什么说是难点?既然国外指挥棒不管用,我们能不能用国内指挥棒,张老师讲我们期刊不负责任发大量烂文章,国内的学术评价体系非常不完善,它不是导向问题,而是技术上非常粗糙不精确,国外的导向尽管有一定的公正性,但是导向是不对的,而国内的我们评价机制又不够精确,又不够公正。所以这个我觉得才是我们经济学研究发展的很重要的问题。这个是中国的社会科学所独有的,数学不会面临这样的问题,因为数学没有用哪个国家数据的问题,物理学、化学都没有这样的问题,只有社会科学才面临这样的问题,所以我们所有社会科学都面临这样的问题,就是我们指挥棒我们导向非常有问题。


今天我读了这篇文章以后,他后面讨论说这个文章应该产生什么样的含义,他讨论了几个含义,一个是对于各个经济学院的院长,当你们招聘的时候,当你们评价的时候,考虑他们晋升的时候,要用什么样的导向?刚才我们说这样的导向,就是77%的文章关于美国的导向,它是扭曲了这个市场,使得对其他国家的研究得不到充分的重视,那我们评价的时候,是不是要对这样的导向来做一点纠正,做一点修正?我觉得这个文章的作者已经提到了,今天很高兴我们在座的有50多个经济学院的领导们,在我们评价中是不是要考虑到做一点点调整,这是我想讲的第一个事儿,这是从需求的角度来看。


那么从供给的角度来看,我觉得我们也是,在中国做经济学研究真难,也有很多有利的地方,就是我们每天能看到很多值得研究的问题,但是要把这些问题研究深、研究透非常的难,一个是有很多外界的吸引,像张老师说的不独立,我们要开各种各样的会,要做很多行政的工作,这是一方面。还有我们数据的获得性实在是很差。一些在其他国家非常容易获得的数据,在我们这儿非常难获得,也有人能获得,都是动用自己各种各样的资源,我们要成为一个好的经济学学者,首先要是一个好的企业家,因为否则你得不到这样的数据,你要是单纯的学者想得到数据真的是难啊!所以这是一个影响我们供给的问题。


第二个我们有一些特别重要的问题,它的可观察性或者叫可度量性比较差,其实刚才成钢讲到了制度问题,刚才成钢还讲到方法论的发展,说物理学中望远镜曾经起到很重要的作用,而对我们来说要研究影响经济最重要的问题制度问题,就面临一个很大的困难,我现在还看不到这个前景。我们制度里很多地方太不透明了,我们现在需要的不是望远镜,我们需要X光机,能够穿透这个不透明的表面,能让我们看到里面是什么,如果你研究制度都不知道这里面制度的内容是什么,你没有基本的观察,你怎么能够写好的理论模型来描述个制度,这个我也不知道怎么解决。我就希望我们在体制内的,对制度特别了解的人,能多跟做学术研究的人沟通一下,让做学术研究的年轻学者了解一下制度到底是怎么回事,真的,我们学者不了解!所以这点上真是希望我们学者也要主动的去找这些对制度了解的人,向他们学习,向他们了解这个制度背景,然后才能作出符合中国对中国有利的理论模型。


   

——————————————————

转载需注明出处:北京当代经济学基金会